upright turbo build

This is the place to discuss, or get help with any of your Type 4 questions.
tonyorlo

upright turbo build

Post by tonyorlo »

Im building this engine for my 74 ghia, this is my first air cooled engine so Im still learning. Im on the fence about the displacement I will go with. The engine is a 1.8, Im not sure if I am going to buy a 2.0 crank, or have my 1.8 polished and re use it. As of now the plan is to turbo with an air to air ic, megasquirt, edis, joe calis upright conversion, and the porsche 901 trans. Im going to try to retain the factory heat, I have an idea for using the 914 exhaust manifolds and making some heater boxes for them. Ive been lurking on here non stop for the last few months and I am learning alot. As of now I tore the engine down, and cleaned it up. I have been working on getting the cooling system built. I am fiberglassing the upper cyl covers, front and back head tins.

It obviously needs cleaned up lol but its a start.
Piledriver

Re: upright turbo build

Post by Piledriver »

Note that Wallys 2.2L hero turbo motor was mostly running a stock 1.7L crank and prepped stock rods...
Just saying.

Fiberglass always kicked my ass. :lol:
Addendum to Newtons first law:
zero vehicles on jackstands, square gets a fresh 090 and 1911, cabby gets a blower.
EZ3.6 Vanagon after that.(mounted, needs everything finished) then Creamsicle.
tonyorlo

Post by tonyorlo »

I guess I should say his build has been my inspiration on deciding to turbo the engine. Its unbeliveable what hes done on stock parts. After figureing up the totals, I dont know if I can justify spending another $5-600 for .2 litres. Im not going to race the car, just have fun with it on the weekends. Im even considering running hyper pistons for the tighter clearences. I have a friend whos excelent at tuning turbo cars, I feel he can steer me in the right direction. It will be water injected as well.