Ghia tach, speedo options

VW underneath a classic Italian body design.

Moderator: FJCamper

User avatar
superstar
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:03 pm
Location: muskegon michigan

Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby superstar » Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:10 pm

What Porsche tachometers and speedometers will fit into the Ghia speedo and clock hole.
helowrench
Posts: 1908
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:20 am
Location: East of Dallas TX

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby helowrench » Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:29 pm

if you have the 2 large hole dash, the 914 tach and speedo drop in
User avatar
superstar
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:03 pm
Location: muskegon michigan

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby superstar » Sun Apr 18, 2010 9:10 am

I do have the 2 large hole dash in a '64. Does the stock VW speedo drive cable work with the Porschs 914 speedo gauge? I'm assuming the Porsche gauge is cable driven.
helowrench
Posts: 1908
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:20 am
Location: East of Dallas TX

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby helowrench » Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:10 pm

superstar wrote:I do have the 2 large hole dash in a '64. Does the stock VW speedo drive cable work with the Porschs 914 speedo gauge? I'm assuming the Porsche gauge is cable driven.

If I remember correctly the answer is yes.
I had a 68 ghia that the po had installed a 914 140mph speedo, which I thought was hilariously optimistic. I mean come on, maybe in a freefall, off a cliff.....

I think the speedo cable was stock ghia, but it is possible that a 914 or 924 speedo cable was used, but I am pretty sure that bug, ghia, 914 and 924 speedo cables have the same atachment.
User avatar
FJCamper
Moderator
Posts: 2487
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 5:19 pm
Location: Birmingham AL

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby FJCamper » Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:44 am

Image

The Porsche 356B Super 90 tach (electrical) is a direct fit for the older Ghias, and some kit car companies sell reproductions of them.

Image

The same is true of this VDO speedo for kit cars, fits Ghias and 356. and is cable driven.

FJC
User avatar
superstar
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:03 pm
Location: muskegon michigan

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby superstar » Tue Apr 20, 2010 5:03 pm

FJC, Do you have the part number on the vdo speedo in your Mexico ghia. I am not able to find it from vdo. There is a lot of 914 gauges on ebay that go for a reasonable price. Is there a size difference between the 911 and 914 gauges? They look the same on ebay.
thanks.
User avatar
FJCamper
Moderator
Posts: 2487
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 5:19 pm
Location: Birmingham AL

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby FJCamper » Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:08 pm

Hi Superstar,

There are no numbers, stamped, painted, or paper-tagged on the speedo. And I had it in its box -- which was VDO of Brazil, but again, with no numbers.

I was careful to check this, because I wanted another one.

I did not buy the speedo. My son bought it back in the 90's, and put it in storage.

I have checked VDO catalogs, called VDO reps, and no one knows anything about it.

By the way, the 914 2.0L tach we first had for possible use needed a rubber ring to make it fit the older Ghia/Porsche dashes.

We had to replace the 6000rpm Super 90 tach with a commercial speedshop 8000rpm tach on our '70 Ghia when we went to our 2.2l engine. The Super 90 tach, of course, went to the Mexico Ghia.

FJC
User avatar
superstar
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:03 pm
Location: muskegon michigan

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby superstar » Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:12 pm

FJC,
Thanks for the info. In another thread you had a really good picture of the vdo speedo and super 90 tack in the Mexico Ghia. It seems that the Porsche speedos are 4" and the Porsche tachs are 4 1/2" in diameter. This leads to the problem that the two gauges do not match in size to the VW dash holes. I decided to try something different with my gauges. I stumbled across a guy with a cnc machine that cuts plastic for signs. He is going to cut out two new gauge faces that I will use to turn the clock into a tach and replace the speedo face. The new gauge faces will be made to match the other vdo cockpit series gauges I have. This way all the gauges will match and the speedo and tack will be the same size recessed in the dash. I will post the pictures of the gauges when they are done.
User avatar
superstar
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:03 pm
Location: muskegon michigan

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby superstar » Fri May 28, 2010 10:04 pm

These are my custom made spedo and tack gauges. My buddy scaned the original spedo face and drew up a matching tack face. The gauge faces were made out of plastic on a CNC engraving machine. The tack started as a 924 tack mated up with the stock vw clock.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
sully356
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby sully356 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:40 pm

Hi, Yes I have a question if someone could help with an ansewer. I Have a 69 V.W. with a VDO Speedometer that reads faster than the car is going, I have cheked the square hole in the hub and the cable seems to be o.k.my question is how do I adjust the speedo to get the right reading. Note I have already had it calibrated, I dont know what else to do. Faced with buying another but fear I will run into same problem. HELP!
Thanks Sully
User avatar
superstar
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:03 pm
Location: muskegon michigan

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby superstar » Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:11 pm

My speedo reads 20 mph as I go 35 mph and it reads 70 mph as I go 45 mph and I have no clue on how to fix it. I bring my handheld gps unit with me to track my speed.
User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 20074
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Ghia tach, speedo options

Postby Piledriver » Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:11 pm

sully356 wrote:Hi, Yes I have a question if someone could help with an ansewer. I Have a 69 V.W. with a VDO Speedometer that reads faster than the car is going, I have cheked the square hole in the hub and the cable seems to be o.k.my question is how do I adjust the speedo to get the right reading. Note I have already had it calibrated, I dont know what else to do. Faced with buying another but fear I will run into same problem. HELP!
Thanks Sully


They ~typically read ~3-5% high from the factory (faster than the car is going---this is fully intentional, 2012 models as well, all makes )
You say you had it calibrated--- By whom? Make them do it properly.

A speedometer shop has the gear to TEST this and can fixs, but it might be less expensive to simply source another stock speedo.
Are you running stock diameter tires? The speedo shop needs this info.

All "traditional" speedometers are based on one of Nicola Teslas many discoveries/inventions, Once you understand how they work, what to adjust becomes obvious:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speedometer#Eddy_current
From when the first hunter-gatherer started tilling a field, the reason for founding of the first human settlements, to the very foundations of modern civilization, they had a singular, driving purpose:

The efficient manufacture of beer.

Return to “The Karmann Ghia Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests