1.25 ratio rockers

The VW Beetle. Everything about bugs!
advinnie

1.25 ratio rockers

Post by advinnie »

Hi all I have a 1600 twin port beetle with a stock cam and crankshaft but it has dual 34 carbs and a 2 tip gt exhaust and the head will be sent of soon for porting but I need some rockers. Should I stay with stock 1.1 rockers or get some 1.25 ratio ro rockers? Any advice welcome cheers all
Stray Catalyst

Re: 1.25 ratio rockers

Post by Stray Catalyst »

Stock cam and crank, you're fine to use stock rockers IMHO.
advinnie

Post by advinnie »

Sorry im new to this what does IMHO mean
Stray Catalyst

Post by Stray Catalyst »

In My Humble Opinion.

I use 1.25:1 rockers on my 1835 engine, but I'm also using a W110 cam and a 69mm counterweighted crank. As your engine's internals (cam, crank, etc) are all stock, you should be just fine with the standard 1:1 rockers. If you decide to rebuild the engine for higher performance, the rockers might also need to be upgraded - but at this point, I don't think you'd see any difference except the amount of money you're spending.
advinnie

Post by advinnie »

So even with ported heads and dual 34 carbs there is no need to use 1.25 rockers.
Stray Catalyst

Post by Stray Catalyst »

Ratio rockers are needed if your cam is trying to lift your valves rapidly and a greater distance - the type of heads or carburetors won't change the valve lift at all. Heads and carbs are the easy way to get more power out of an engine - but you're still using the stock cam, so the valves are still lifting the stock distance. Assuming you're still using single springs, there's very little benefit to getting the ratio rockers for your engine.