CB Performance or Electromotive systems?

Fuel Supply & Ignition Systems
SuperRSi

CB Performance or Electromotive systems?

Post by SuperRSi »

Anyone using a close to plug and play system with self tune on twin throttle bodies?

I am looking for a good quick fix for a 2.3 at altitude.

Thanks,
Randy
Stripped66

Re: CB Performance or Electromotive systems?

Post by Stripped66 »

CB is plug and play, but I'm rather unimpressed by their system, user interface, or the headache you may have to go through to tune it (e.g. contact CB, have them unlock certain features so that you can tune, etc). I've been running Electromotive since 2007, it is far from plug and play.

Megasquirt, such as a kit purchased through Mario Velotta, will be pretty dang close to plug and play, plus you'll have excellent support. Even if you pieced together a megasquirt kit, you will still have the extensive knowledge-base to draw from that far exceeds what is available to the end-user for either CB's or Electromotive's EFI systems.
Chip Birks

Post by Chip Birks »

Is there any good feedback on CB's newest system? Magnafuel/spark or what ever its called? It sounds like it has pretty good potential.
Stripped66

Post by Stripped66 »

Chip Birks wrote:Is there any good feedback on CB's newest system? Magnafuel/spark or what ever its called? It sounds like it has pretty good potential.
It runs well when it's tuned well. Again, the end-user is locked out of several of the tuning features (such as adjusting cold-start/warm-up enrichments), unless you request access to the feature/tuning parameter and CB will have their programmer unlock it. (This is assuming CB hasn't issued recent versions of the tuning software with some of these features already unlocked and accessible to the end-user)

Also, the one person I know who's running this system has sent the ECU back to CB at least once because the wideband O2 quit working. Otherwise, his car runs very strong.
tbirdusa

Post by tbirdusa »