NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

With Turbo and Super charging you can create massive horsepower with vw motors.

Moderator: seabeebuggy

Post Reply
User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21788
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by Piledriver » Thu Mar 02, 2017 7:35 pm

petew wrote:
Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:43 pm
The hesistation was around about 8-10psi, ie. not right at the top of boost. It could be ignition. I'll have to check it.

I'm still using the stock gate spring. However, I did tension it a little when I clocked it into the right position. The other thing being, yet again the car is boosting beyond the table. So I need another rejig there.
Need to set your overboost protection up...
You don't want to be running where you are not set up to look.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
kangaboy
Posts: 746
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 3:01 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by kangaboy » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:52 pm

Could it have anything to do with 125% duty cycle?

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21788
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by Piledriver » Thu Mar 02, 2017 9:54 pm

kangaboy wrote:
Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:52 pm
Could it have anything to do with 125% duty cycle?

He's still running dead rich, 10:1 is maxed out reading, is richer than that.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3259
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by petew » Thu Mar 02, 2017 11:20 pm

Nah, it's read an AFR of 9 before. :lol:

I'll be leaning it out for sure once I check a few things. ;)

BTW, I set up the overboost for 165kpa. Should keep me out of trouble for a while. :)

Clonebug
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by Clonebug » Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:36 am

Overboost is a hard cut. You will put your face through the windscreen if you hit it hard enough. It cuts fuel and spark.

It's best used for a safety in case the wastegate sticks or fails.

You should have your wastegate set for something like 6 lbs which is a safe setting for times when your fuel or ignition isn't up to snuff.
You should then have a manual boost controller or else use the ECU for a Electronic boost controller to set what your max boost is.

For Ex.

I have a 6 lbs spring in my turbo that is the stock wastegate setting. If I run with the EBC off I can only do 6 lbs boost.
Once I turn the EBC to active or on... I can then adjust what boost level I want by messing with the DC of the boost solenoid which gives excellent control of what boost level I want.
Running a spring set at 14 lbs is not a good idea due to the fact you can not turn it down to a safe level.

I feel that until you get your fueling and tune closer you should keep your boost to 10 lbs. or less.

10.0:1 or less AFR means your are pegged full rich and it shouldn't ping at all when running that rich. Most O2 sensors can only read between 10.0:1= 0.0 volts and 20.0:1=5.0 volts.
That is what the voltage limits get you.
Lean it out and get it to start reading afr at 11.0:1 or leaner and get your DC on your injectors in check.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3259
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by petew » Fri Mar 03, 2017 1:26 am

The overboost gave me a choice of fuel or spark cut. I chose spark cut. So it'll be like a rev limiter. I've tried pulling the spring out of the gate before, but being a factory thing, it's not possible. That being the case, overboost is the best tool I have at this point.

I was wondering about DC and I figured it was as you say. Too much fuel = overworked injectors. :)

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21788
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by Piledriver » Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:39 am

petew wrote:
Thu Mar 02, 2017 11:20 pm
Nah, it's read an AFR of 9 before. :lol:

I'll be leaning it out for sure once I check a few things. ;)

BTW, I set up the overboost for 165kpa. Should keep me out of trouble for a while. :)
That just means the calibration on the MSs side is off.
I STRONGLY suggest reading the serial output and tweaking the MS cal numbers until it matches at 10 and 20 AFR...
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3259
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by petew » Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:56 am

Ok, how would calibrate it?

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21788
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by Piledriver » Fri Mar 03, 2017 12:49 pm

petew wrote:
Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:56 am
Ok, how would calibrate it?
Use the custom WBO2 option and tweak the lower and upper voltages until it reads same as the digital readings.
Analog inputs almost always require some tweaks to read correctly, the "presets" are great for convenience and are usually close enough to get you going, but for best accuracy it probably needs tweaked.

The newer 14point7.com widebands have a preset 2-step voltage output on startup to allow easier analog calibration.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3259
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by petew » Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:18 pm

Sorry, I'm still not clear on how to get the two voltages. Do I need to back probe the sensor? Does megalog viewer give me a voltage output for the sensor?

User avatar
MarioVelotta
Posts: 3742
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Monroe, Wa.
Contact:

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by MarioVelotta » Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:56 am

This spreadsheet should work for you to get them synced,

http://www.14point7.com/blogs/news/1653 ... megasquirt
The Dub Shop
Mario@thedubshop.net
2276 Turbo - 92 Octane
11.537 @ 115.74mph - 15psi
1600dp - 18sec @ 0psi :lol:
Facebook-Tech-Store

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3259
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by petew » Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:28 am

He's mentioning the Spartan. Is this also true for Innovate LC2?

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21788
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by Piledriver » Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:55 am

It works for anything with an analog signal.
The Spartan just makes things easier as it produces a 2-step "cal voltage" on startup, rather than having to tweak the limits..
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
petew
Posts: 3259
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Sydney/Australia
Contact:

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by petew » Sat Mar 04, 2017 2:51 am

That's great, but what 2 distinct voltages will the Innovate put out and how do I measure them?

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21788
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: NEW plan - 1600 TURBO + oval + downunder

Post by Piledriver » Sat Mar 04, 2017 3:00 am

petew wrote:
Sat Mar 04, 2017 2:51 am
That's great, but what 2 distinct voltages will the Innovate put out and how do I measure them?
You don't actually have the problem you just need a second serial port so you can use the innovate software and read the AFR directly, same as I do on my old JAW wideband.

Folks with only analog options are stuck getting min and max readings to jibe.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

Post Reply