Turbocharged 1600

With Turbo and Super charging you can create massive horsepower with vw motors.
advinnie

Turbocharged 1600

Post by advinnie »

Hi all I was just wondering how much boost could a stock 1600 twin port bug take?
Last edited by advinnie on Sun Mar 26, 2017 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Clonebug

Re: Turbocharged 1600

Post by Clonebug »

I have a pretty close to stock 1679cc engine.
It has HD single valve springs with a Engle W-100 cam and 88 mm AA P/C's.

Highest boost is 22 lbs and I have been running it that way for 2 years now.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.
advinnie

Post by advinnie »

Cheers mate so I'm going to be pretty save just running 12 psi then.
May I ask if you have any photos of your set up.
I'm still in two minds if I should have the turbo low down or high up in the engine bay to help oil drain back.
What size oil pump you running?
I'm planning on using two dell 36 carbs but still waiting to hear back from Euro carb on what needs doing to them to get them ready for use with a turbo.
Clonebug

Post by Clonebug »

Here is the TD04L-13T install.
It's a Subaru WRX turbo and is the one putting out 22 lbs.

http://www.shoptalkforums.com/viewtopic ... start=1260

The stock wastegate is set for 6-7 lbs and I first used a MBC to set max boost but now I use an EBC.

I suggest doing the same so you can work up into the higher boost ranges.
Start with 6-7 lbs since detonation and IAT's will not be too much of a factor. Anything over 8 lbs without an intercooler you will need quality ignition control and/or Water/Alcohol injection.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.
petew

Post by petew »