1600 turbo build thread

With Turbo and Super charging you can create massive horsepower with vw motors.

Moderator: seabeebuggy

Post Reply
Clonebug
Posts: 3430
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by Clonebug » Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:46 pm

Chip Birks wrote:
Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:24 pm
Pretty sure its just a modified one. I'll ask him...
Who's Bug is that???
Engine?
Turbo?
Details???
:shock: :wink: :lol:
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by Chip Birks » Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:08 pm

His name is Chrys Espejo, he's on facebook. He races Unlimited Street, is from California, runs e85 most of the time, if not exclusively. Air to water intercooler. I think its gone 10s. Nice guy. Cool car.

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Port Orange, FL

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by buguy » Fri Apr 27, 2018 7:54 pm

Yeah it looks like pretty big pipe!

User avatar
theKbStockpiler
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:25 pm

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by theKbStockpiler » Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:33 pm

Here's a link that brings up a lot of turbo bug builds. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AntlkT6ybVo

The only header I have seen that keeps the turbo out of the engine bay is the CB. If having the turbo/exhaust in the engine bay is not a problem or having unequal length primaries , the fabrication gets easier.
Super beetle with attitude

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by Chip Birks » Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:36 pm

My a1 puts the turbo in the same spot, but no pipe in the back of the engine. The primaries all run forward and the wrap around to the 3/4 side.

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Port Orange, FL

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by buguy » Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:42 pm

That's kind of how I was thinking to do it. Run the 1/2 side around the forward part of the engine and end up back around by number 4. Or maybe keeping it kind of like it is now but running a little bit lower in the back so things don't have to be so tight running back up.

User avatar
theKbStockpiler
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:25 pm

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by theKbStockpiler » Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:02 pm

I just came across the DRD header.
Image
Super beetle with attitude

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by Chip Birks » Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:10 pm

theKbStockpiler wrote:
Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:02 pm
I just came across the DRD header.
Image
DRD used to sell the A1 header, thats the one I have. Pretty sure DRD has closed its doors.

User avatar
theKbStockpiler
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:25 pm

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by theKbStockpiler » Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:16 pm

It just occurred to me the if the primaries are not equal length, they are not technically a header and are a 'tubular exhaust'.
Super beetle with attitude

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Port Orange, FL

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by buguy » Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:40 pm

That's pretty much the vision I had for it. But I would think the turbo would need to be a bit higher for drainage? Do you have to run a scavenge pump Chip?

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by Chip Birks » Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:52 pm

buguy wrote:
Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:40 pm
That's pretty much the vision I had for it. But I would think the turbo would need to be a bit higher for drainage? Do you have to run a scavenge pump Chip?
I've never had a problem.

User avatar
theKbStockpiler
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:25 pm

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by theKbStockpiler » Fri Apr 27, 2018 10:20 pm

Chip, do you find that SS stays that much cooler and really does not need to be insulated?
Super beetle with attitude

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by Chip Birks » Fri Apr 27, 2018 11:26 pm

My header is MS. I'm gathering a whole bunch of stainless bits to do a new header, but not ready to do it yet. My steel one has definitely done some corroding. Its still sound, for now. I mainly want the stainless for its durability.

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Port Orange, FL

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by buguy » Sun May 06, 2018 8:07 pm

I'm ordering up my bends tomorrow. Its a bummer because the place with the cheap bends has nice flanges for sale too but no cheap collector. The next more expensive place with bends has a cheap collector but don't have thick flanges. So I have to order from 2 different places.
I'm really tempted to try blowing through one of these carbs but it sure seems like the throttle shafts would be a huge leak. I would also probably have to put an electric fuel pump on... Maybe. I don't really know what pressure the stock mechanical pump puts out. I believe a Holley is good to 7 pounds of pressure before overcoming the needle and seat. So if I have to bump the fuel pressure up as boost rises I could need as much as 17 pounds (assuming I run 10 psi of boost).I can't imagine I can get that from a stock pump.

Clonebug
Posts: 3430
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: 1600 turbo build thread

Post by Clonebug » Sun May 06, 2018 10:36 pm

You might want to check this out before placing your order.
They even have a cheap collector and you can get it in 1 3/8ths if you want.

http://www.greatplainsas.com/scexhaustparts.html
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

Post Reply