Torque Wrench at Reasonable Price?

General tips/tricks/tools that could be utilized on any platform.
Jim Ed

Torque Wrench at Reasonable Price?

Post by Jim Ed »

I need help deciding on which torque wrench to buy.
It needs to be able to measure 22 ft. lbs. of torque.

I was thinking of trying Sears since they have Craftsman torque wrenches made in China on sale right now.

Help please - TIA!
frankysfree

Re: Torque Wrench at Reasonable Price?

Post by frankysfree »

Stay far far far away from harbor freight...

I have snap-on and matco torque wrenches since this is what i do for a living but for the home mechanic a sears torque wrench is probly more than adequate and alot cheaper(i paid between $300-$500 a piece for mine)
SCOTTRODS

Post by SCOTTRODS »

frankysfree wrote:Stay far far far away from harbor freight...

I have snap-on and matco torque wrenches since this is what i do for a living but for the home mechanic a sears torque wrench is probly more than adequate and alot cheaper(i paid between $300-$500 a piece for mine)
Agreed.... Cheap torque wrenches are best if you buy the one with the long pointer... click types and dial indicator ones should be good brand good quality if you want good torque values to be applied. I too am a Snap-On-Tools and Matco buyer.... And they're not cheap no matter how you get them.
I have found them completely missing more than once. - PILEDRIVER

Some pics of My Powder Coating work
http://s244.photobucket.com/albums/gg6/terrellster/
My Facebook Page for Powder Coating
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001788886297
Ol'fogasaurus

Post by Ol'fogasaurus »

I have had or worked with torque wrenches that have gone bad; people I know have had their expensive units take a dump on them; none are without problems. On a "click" type torque make sure that you unload the spring after use. Also, find an master torque wrench to check yours out... at least once a year.

Lee
Bruce2

Post by Bruce2 »