I need some suspension/brake parts list help - 1972 Std Bug

For road racing, autocrossing, or just taking that curve in style. Oh yea, and stopping!
ErikTande

I need some suspension/brake parts list help - 1972 Std Bug

Post by ErikTande »

I'm trying to figure out a parts list for my build and I need some advice on brakes and suspension. I'm a novice and need some help. I'll be using 17"x8" wheels and I'm getting 3" wider rear fenders. I want an adjustable coilover setup on both the front and rear. I'll need disc brakes all around.

Note: The car is initially going to get a subaru swap (ej22) and I plan on using the stock VW transmission. However, down the road the transmission will need to be upgraded when I go with a bigger subaru motor. Is that going to affect my suspension choice? If it does, should I swap transmission right way to make sure I'm not doubling up on parts purchases?
Also, I'm doing a body off restore on the car this summer, so I kinda figured it would be a good time to get the suspension sorted out as well.

For brakes, a kit like this looks attractive to me because I'd like to drill a 5x114.3 pattern.
http://www.socalautoparts.com/index.php ... ont-c-1238

I have no idea where to start with the suspension, but I know it's going to be pricey. Comfort isn't on my radar, this is going to be a road car built for twisty roads and the occasional road course, and I enjoy a stiff ride anyway. Giggity. I just want the best handling I can afford, even though it's looking like it's going to be well into the thousands of dollars.

I found this from Eyeball, it looks like a pretty awesome setup for the front. I also found the Red 9 version:
http://www.eyeball-engineering.net/a-arm.html
http://www.red9design.com/type1.htm

I'll likely be going with one of those two for the front.