Realtime clock module

Moderator: Tom Notch

User avatar
vwi_dduvall
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:39 am
Location: Huntsville, AL
Contact:

Realtime clock module

Post by vwi_dduvall » Tue Sep 29, 2015 9:58 pm

OK so I have been sitting here thinking of things to add to my MS3 EXTRA and started thinking is there a cheaper alternative to the DIY RTC.

The http://www.diyautotune.com/catalog/ms3- ... p-523.html listed on the site seems a bit out of line price wise. Sure you get a custom PC board that makes for a nice install but $65?

So i started looking for RTC alternatives from what I see of the DIY one what is needed is the SCL, SDA, 5v/VCC, and GND connections. So why not use one of theses options:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... k&_sacat=0

I am sure there are a few opinions out there so figured I would throw this out.
Daniel Du Vall
http://volkswageninsanity.us
"Cause, remember: no matter where you go... there you are"
Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension

User avatar
vwi_dduvall
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:39 am
Location: Huntsville, AL
Contact:

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by vwi_dduvall » Wed Sep 30, 2015 10:20 pm

vwi_dduvall wrote:OK so I have been sitting here thinking of things to add to my MS3 EXTRA and started thinking is there a cheaper alternative to the DIY RTC.

The http://www.diyautotune.com/catalog/ms3- ... p-523.html listed on the site seems a bit out of line price wise. Sure you get a custom PC board that makes for a nice install but $65?

So i started looking for RTC alternatives from what I see of the DIY one what is needed is the SCL, SDA, 5v/VCC, and GND connections. So why not use one of theses options:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... k&_sacat=0

I am sure there are a few opinions out there so figured I would throw this out.
OK well i dicided to get these and going to test. I dont see why it would not work SCL is Serial Clock Link and SDA is Serial Data Link the other two are VCC/+5v and GND simple enough. I will have to use jumper wires and find a safe way to attach it but that not a problem. I will post how it goes once i get it all installed and tested.
Daniel Du Vall
http://volkswageninsanity.us
"Cause, remember: no matter where you go... there you are"
Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21917
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by Piledriver » Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:03 am

I have considered the same for the same reasons.
I could deal with the knock module cost as there is a firmware component that required real development.
The RTC not so much, there is existing boilerplate code for that component.
Curious how it works: It should.

You can get probably compatible of the shelf RTC boards for $3-5.
Probably won't be as neat an install, but works is job#1.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
vwi_dduvall
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:39 am
Location: Huntsville, AL
Contact:

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by vwi_dduvall » Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:01 pm

I received the RTC units today will plan on installing one of them hopefully before the end of the week crazy work scheduled permitting.
Daniel Du Vall
http://volkswageninsanity.us
"Cause, remember: no matter where you go... there you are"
Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21917
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by Piledriver » Mon Oct 05, 2015 12:39 am

Just verify all the voltage ranges, a lot of the generic RTCs are 3.3v, I'm not sure if the MS3 is 3.3v or 5v for the clock.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
vwi_dduvall
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:39 am
Location: Huntsville, AL
Contact:

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by vwi_dduvall » Sat Oct 24, 2015 10:13 am

Update on the build your own real time clock.

I received my clock module and did quite a bit of testing and found that the MS3X or MS3 for that matter has code in it that is for a different chipset than received thus was unable to work with it.

I did some looking around the internet and finally found the chipset they use and found one source for the RTC that uses it.
http://volkswageninsanity.us/Postings/s-l500.jpg

For now I am putting this project on hold need to get things running but plan on returning to it at some point down the road.
Would be nice to find a source that is not in Europe, Hungary and has the more accurate crystal like the DIY one does.
http://volkswageninsanity.us/Postings/2 ... 00x600.jpg
Daniel Du Vall
http://volkswageninsanity.us
"Cause, remember: no matter where you go... there you are"
Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21917
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by Piledriver » Sun Oct 25, 2015 1:35 am

Sad that we woudln't even be discussing this if the "official" part was even close to reasonably priced.
(Maybe $30 upper limit, its an RTC for goodness sakes, probably under $10 in any quantity)

I believe this is almost what you seek...

Digilent PmodRTCC Peripheral Module
http://www.digikey.com/catalog/en/partg ... dule/34171

Sadly it's rated at 3.3v, but the chip itself is rated 1.8-5.5v, so likely a resistor change powering the crystal is the only needed mod, and perhaps not that.

That's a description page, not the usual page you can buy it.
Click on the part# for the actual price and ability to add to cart.
($19.99)
There is also a related "kit" for $2 more that also has the mating connectors (i think)
Mouser carries the "kit".

Having said all that, cheapness wins.
I ordered the one from the EU as shipping is free.
I'm in no hurry.

If you want USA source, Digi-key has no minimum order, and Mouser is IIRC $25. Buy a spare Hall gear tooth sensor. ATS667.

My only concern with this would be custom firmware or such, but I can't see it..
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
vwi_dduvall
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:39 am
Location: Huntsville, AL
Contact:

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by vwi_dduvall » Sun Oct 25, 2015 8:45 am

The EU one was my debate I may still order one but need to get this system back up and running so did not want to wait till it got in to try again.
Thanks for the link to Digi-Key have used them in the past for misc. parts to repair things. Not sure why they chose this RTC chip as the other is much cheaper and aside from the crystal used it would need a code change in the MS firmware and there are plenty of examples I found in the process of looking around.

I have noticed that some of the DIY stuff is a bit over priced.
Daniel Du Vall
http://volkswageninsanity.us
"Cause, remember: no matter where you go... there you are"
Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension

User avatar
vwi_dduvall
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:39 am
Location: Huntsville, AL
Contact:

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by vwi_dduvall » Sun Oct 25, 2015 9:22 am

vwi_dduvall wrote:The EU one was my debate I may still order one but need to get this system back up and running so did not want to wait till it got in to try again.
Thanks for the link to Digi-Key have used them in the past for misc. parts to repair things. Not sure why they chose this RTC chip as the other is much cheaper and aside from the crystal used it would need a code change in the MS firmware and there are plenty of examples I found in the process of looking around.

I have noticed that some of the DIY stuff is a bit over priced.
OK ordered one from the EU.
Daniel Du Vall
http://volkswageninsanity.us
"Cause, remember: no matter where you go... there you are"
Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 3024
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by Chip Birks » Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:30 pm

vwi_dduvall wrote:I have noticed that some of the DIY stuff is a bit over priced.
You aren't the only one. I will say though that fast do offer the one stop doing experience. That is definitely worth something. I tend to buy pretty much everything I can from mouser these days. But I have had to invest a lot of time into searching the huge mouser database to find what I need. So it all depends on what works best. Some people have more money than time, others have more time than money.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21917
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by Piledriver » Tue Nov 10, 2015 4:03 am

My RTC arrived from Hungary safe, it has frequently taken longer to get mail from Canada...
.. was at the PO box, could have come last Friday.

Will be the weekend before I can try it.

Look fine though.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
vwi_dduvall
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:39 am
Location: Huntsville, AL
Contact:

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by vwi_dduvall » Tue Nov 10, 2015 7:08 am

Piledriver wrote:My RTC arrived from Hungary safe, it has frequently taken longer to get mail from Canada...
.. was at the PO box, could have come last Friday.

Will be the weekend before I can try it.

Look fine though.
Had mine a few days and am focusing on the next strange issue for now so it will have to wait.
Daniel Du Vall
http://volkswageninsanity.us
"Cause, remember: no matter where you go... there you are"
Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21917
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by Piledriver » Sat Nov 14, 2015 7:51 pm

Works fine as expected--- The RTC board layouts are even very similar, probably both based on a reference design.
Enabled RTC in the can/test menu, power cycled, set the time, done.

I magically had a mating connector that was perfect laying on my desk for awhile (scrounged from something)
(the "unused" wire is simply stuck into the hot glue to secure it)

You could also directly solder some wires on the pins secured with bits of heat shrink.

I hot-glued it in place on a ~barren part of the MS3X spaced up about 1/8", with a dab of hot melt to secure the connector and battery.

In retrospect, I should have put it in some heat shrink and then glued it down, that way it wouldn't be entirely reliant on the hot glue for electrical isolation. Maybe next time. (not that motivated today)
ms3-alt-rtc.JPG
Now I'm just waiting for the post office to open Monday so I can play with my new $22 50Hz GPS.
(can be set to 1, 5, 10, 20, or 50 Hz)

Sadly TunerStudio is not gpsd-aware (std interface for any UNIX, Linux/Android/Chrome/OSX/*BSD etc) , so I can't use my laptops GPS for navigation and TunerStudio logging simultaneously as getting the data from gpsds network port would allow.

gpsd will even allow exporting data to another network-connected device, like Android phone>laptop.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21917
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by Piledriver » Sat Nov 14, 2015 11:23 pm

My remaining functional neuron just fired.

It just dawned me that the RTC is I2C bus.

My WBO2 is I2C.
There are $6 TC modules (and all sorts of other IO stuff) that also speak I2C.

If the MS3 can "speak" I2C natively, do I really need an IOX or CAN-EGT?
(firmware code would be required for each device, but that's the case to some extent anyway)

Hell, I'd be delighted to simply have direct digital WBO2 data.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

turboedbug
Posts: 447
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: washington

Re: Realtime clock module

Post by turboedbug » Wed May 30, 2018 8:54 am

sorry for bringing this old post up.

but what rtc did u end up using?
1969 beetle rolling subie power
Ej20k vf-22 roller bearing turbo
Wright gearbox pro street -soon to be suby 5 speed
EMS stinger 4424 ecu
Wide 5 discs all the way around

Post Reply