LowZ vs HighZ and the relay board

66brm

LowZ vs HighZ and the relay board

Post by 66brm »

Ok I've been reading the hell out of the manuals of late for my MS2 3.57 install, I have 41lb lowZ injectors and have found in the hardware manual that its not recommended to run LowZ injectors from the relay board, any idea why? Also whats the general consensus on how to run with lowZ injectors, PWM, resistors or external driver? Or just spend another $220 on a set of highZ injectors and be done with it?
Clonebug

Re: LowZ vs HighZ and the relay board

Post by Clonebug »

I've been running Low Z 32# injectors for 2 yrs on my relay board.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.
66brm

Post by 66brm »

How are you controlling the injectors? PWM?
Piledriver

Post by Piledriver »

It's software PWM capable, but there may be a required flyback diode mod, might just be needed for the 2.2 boards.

If you ever want sequential, JBPerformance sells a hardware PWM 4 channel injector driver board.
Used one on my original MS2 a few years ago, thought I might need lowZ but never needed to go there.
Sadly the *4x4 (ign+inj) "4 channel board" appeared later, or I would have just used that.

I stuck the driver board and ign boards in a separate MS1 case.
(The MS2 went in an MS3 case, had just become available)

These days you can use an MS3x with a MS2.

Of course the sequential injector lines will have to bypass the relay board, as it only has the two B&G inj wire pairs.

The $50`08 GSXR600 ITB set I picked up had 4x230 cc tan and 4x440cc gray pico injectors in it, as well as 2 usable TPS and a NA MAP sensor, and the $10 electrical harness provided 8 nice connectors to match the injectors and the TPSs etc. The ITBs ended up much better than free, as all those injectors and other bits were clean and perfect.