Edis on ms1 v2.2

Moderator: Tom Notch

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Sun May 28, 2017 11:20 pm

And....
It was not on Alpha?
It was before.
But I tryed the hi res 10 and started over with everything.
I must have missed that one on the re-do.

And thanks for the help.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21748
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by Piledriver » Sun May 28, 2017 11:25 pm

Set single table for now, baby steps, make it run first.

I suspect if the ECU thinks it is a twin the data it sends (if any) to the EDIS will be garbage.

The EDIS should work, regardless, if the ECU is disconnected, but if fed garbage it may stuff it.

The first step in the manuals checkout is to power up the EDIS by itself and crank the motor.
(pull the plugs and pull the injector fuse for more cranking speed/time)

It should spark, and with a shot of propane or ether (propane is safer) it should fire with the plugs in..
Move the sensor until the timing reads 10BTDC.

Then hook up the ECU.

I would break in the cam on carbs and a distributor unless you get it to fire immediately.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Sun May 28, 2017 11:46 pm

The motor has not been fired.
The distributor drive is gone.
I do still have the carbs somewhere. Leaving e10 and the resulting moisture in them over the winters past has put a hurting on them.

Do I need to un-mod the second o2 input also?

Of course all this works wonderfully on the stim.

I am building a rig to run the edis on right now. After it works alone then will hook the harness to it.

Ok, so I will set up for single table and see what happens. That is a scenario I have not tryed.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21748
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by Piledriver » Mon May 29, 2017 1:54 am

I looked into the docs and didn't see anything about dual tables forcing it to be set as a a twin, it even sounds wrong.
Dual tables are just 2 spots in memory, which are selected by an input. (I assume one is for nitrous?)
Get the EDIS working stand alone and then try the provided settings..

You cant run the edis on the stim until you get that wheel spinning.
You HAVE to get the edis working by itself first to confirm timing and function, it can be done on the motor as I described, with plugs pulled and ECU fuse pulled or such.(disconnected would be better)

The huge RPM is probably a sign of the 2 cylinder settings with EDIS (config error)
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Mon May 29, 2017 8:27 am

There were several things that were not in the book.
Some of the info I got was from forums like this one.
This setting probably came from the megasquirt support forum.
But not in direct answer to me. I have never gotten a reply at that one. Of course that could be wrong info.
I really thought I had that though.

Just getting out of bed, first day off in quite a while.
I am gonna get a couple hours on it before family is up and needy.

Will do the suggested try and see.
Then finish the rig.
Spinning/running the edis off engine in not a problem at all. Just takes an hour or two to make the parts.

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Mon May 29, 2017 8:44 am

Changing both constants windows cut the reported rpm on the stim in half.
May there is a ÷2 statement in the source code for dual table instead of the user doing the math.

The harness and edis is here at the house with me (minus the coil, stator ring and a device to spin it with).

Edit.
I forgot to say ..... it is still in dual table mode.
One step at a time.
Next will be go to single table. At this point dual table is set the same. But over the past 15yrs of running the engine nekkid I do have to jet the rear cyls fatter (just like a hot rod Harley).



Image

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Mon May 29, 2017 8:59 am

Ok.

So no change there.

Switched to single table and still no change.

So now out to the shop to make the spinner rig and get the edis tested/ running on its own.

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Mon May 29, 2017 12:15 pm

News.....
Making progress.

Rigged up a spinner.

Image

Then results. Was able to trouble shoot with a steady state of something supposed to be happening.

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Mon May 29, 2017 12:23 pm

This wiring diagram does not work with edis or possibly with extra and hi res.
When the + to the coil shuts off with the fuel pump relay you get a dead pip. The ms dont like that.
The fuel pump and coil/ignition must be on seperate relays.


Image

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Mon May 29, 2017 12:39 pm

So now there is a whole new host of questions.

Switching from single table to dual table makes no ignition difference.

Switching the constants for either of the tables from 2 cyl to 4 cyl or 8 cyl does make an ignition difference. Ignition works on all settings the only difference is the rpm on the ts tach.

I am spinning it 1050 rpm.
On 2 cyl on each table it reports 4200 rpm.
On 4 cyl on each table it reports 2100 rpm.
On 8 cyl on each table it reports 1050 rpm.

And switching to single table it is all the same.

So if the ms has a ÷2 for the dual table, why not a ÷2 on the ignition?

I am guessing it being wasted spark that the correct setting for the 2 cyl table would be 4cyl as that makes sense with the tach reading?

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21748
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by Piledriver » Mon May 29, 2017 1:02 pm

Is you edis module edis4 or edis8?

A ms2 would allow individual injector trim tables... but would need to be sequential, which means it needs a set of drivers.
A slightly larger pair of injectors might be easier.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Mon May 29, 2017 1:56 pm

Yes it is an edis 4.

And I am not trying to do individual trim.
I am trying to do bank trim with the 2 onboard drivers.

DeathBySnuSnu
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:45 am

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by DeathBySnuSnu » Mon May 29, 2017 2:09 pm

So very little info on the dual table set up anywhere.
It is clearly mentioned in the ms1 extra manual and is clearly a part of extra.
But finding anyone that has set one up has been difficult.

Like I mentioned before.... I did find some vague info on a forum once before.
I am looking for that again hoping that I understand it better now.

Have you ever seen anyone use dual table?

I find a lot of table switch but barely more than zero on dual table.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21748
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by Piledriver » Mon May 29, 2017 2:22 pm

I'm digging in the forums and reading docs same as you, have only played with ms1 on the bench, and strictly avoided edis.
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21748
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: Edis on ms1 v2.2

Post by Piledriver » Mon May 29, 2017 2:35 pm

MS1-extra shares much with the B&G code, and the dual table stuff is likely identical.
Have a look at http://www.megamanual.com/DT.htm ?
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

Post Reply