MS1 v2.2 Newbie EDIS Quick Question

Moderator: Tom Notch

Post Reply
KoenigsTiger
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:28 pm

MS1 v2.2 Newbie EDIS Quick Question

Post by KoenigsTiger » Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:03 pm

Hey everyone,

I have a MS1 V2.2 with extra code, if I am doing ignition (EDIS) only, does the MS1 need any other sensor inputs beside the one from the EDIS modual for ignition only?

Thank you very much,
Gene

Clonebug
Posts: 3394
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: MS1 v2.2 Newbie EDIS Quick Question

Post by Clonebug » Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:13 pm

KoenigsTiger wrote:
Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:03 pm
Hey everyone,

I have a MS1 V2.2 with extra code, if I am doing ignition (EDIS) only, does the MS1 need any other sensor inputs beside the one from the EDIS modual for ignition only?

Thank you very much,
Gene
You probably don't need a CLT or an IAT but it is nice to have especially if you are turboed. If you are N/A you can more than like get by without.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

KoenigsTiger
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:28 pm

Re: MS1 v2.2 Newbie EDIS Quick Question

Post by KoenigsTiger » Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:43 am

Its just NA DP 1641cc.

Do I need a MAP sensor(manifold vacuum to MS1)? or a TPS? for EDIS to work?

Thanks,
Gene

User avatar
blue thunder
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 11:55 am

Re: MS1 v2.2 Newbie EDIS Quick Question

Post by blue thunder » Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:54 pm

If you have a decent intake vacuum signal in your manifold, the stock MAP sensor will be fine (already on the MS) You can even use this MAP sensor with boost (250kPa absolute).

KoenigsTiger
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:28 pm

Re: MS1 v2.2 Newbie EDIS Quick Question

Post by KoenigsTiger » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:14 pm

Would I have a decent vacuum signal with an engle W100 cam in the the DP1641, with a 30/31 Brosol/Stock Intake manifold?

Clonebug
Posts: 3394
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: MS1 v2.2 Newbie EDIS Quick Question

Post by Clonebug » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:53 pm

I ran a carb with my MS-1 Edis for 2 yrs.
I ran ignition only and had the map sensor hooked up along with a CLT and IAT.

I just logged my CLT since it was in the engine case measuring oil temp but I did use the IAT to retard timing when the air temps increased during boost runs.

You should be able to just get by with just a map sensor since you will be using that for ignition advance.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

KoenigsTiger
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:28 pm

Re: MS1 v2.2 Newbie EDIS Quick Question

Post by KoenigsTiger » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:55 pm

Ok Cool, I'll use the map sensor inside the MS1.

Thanks a lot for your help gents,
Gene

Post Reply