oil temp sensor

Moderator: Tom Notch

Post Reply
volksdragn
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:21 am

oil temp sensor

Post by volksdragn » Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:53 am

Hi, I am in need of some help, my car is running MS3 Evo, I have recently added an oil temperature sensor, using a delphi gm type sensor with gm calibration. at room temperature my gauge in tuner studio shows 70. if I add heat to the sensor the reading never changes. If I ohm the sensor out on the bench I get changes in ohms based on temperature input. however tuner studio never shows changes based on heat. am missing something in my settings? The sensor is connected to the sensor ground on one lead and the other wire is attached to analog in 1 on the MS3. any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21888
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: oil temp sensor

Post by Piledriver » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:13 am

A bias resistor is usually needed if you are setting up any temp sensor.

Look at the v3xx mainboard schematics for examples, MAT and CLT use the same circuit you must duplicate.
Check with your vendor, there may be an on-board jumper that can be set or such on your particular MS3..
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

volksdragn
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:21 am

Re: oil temp sensor

Post by volksdragn » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:51 am

yes you are correct, so i have changed my settings from gm calibration to same as mat calibration with built in bias resistor. i was under the impression that the analog inputs i am using have a built in bias resistor but i could be mistaken, i am trying to track down that information now.

User avatar
Piledriver
Moderator
Posts: 21888
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Van Alstyne, Texas

Re: oil temp sensor

Post by Piledriver » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:19 am

The analog ins on ms2/ms3 (std) are simple 0-5v inputs with little>no protection or additional circuitry.
Some of the newer ms3pro/etc setups may have selectable bias resistors on some channels, guessing.

They are ideal for 0-5v industrial temp/fuel/oil pressure or other sensor setups like many TC/ EGT amps.
(Although one has to be careful as many TC outputs are 0-12v, which would end badly)
I, for one, regularly embrace our new robot overlords, as I am the guy fixing the robots...

volksdragn
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:21 am

Re: oil temp sensor

Post by volksdragn » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:45 am

I have been picking my brain, and again you are correct on that, the analog channels are 0-5 I noticed that last night so I'm back to square 1. i do have a programable bias resistor setting in thermister settings, however my simple butt can't figure out what channel to send the signal to. thanks for your help.

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 2922
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm
Location: Pleasant Grove, Utah

Re: oil temp sensor

Post by Chip Birks » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:19 pm

This is why i have an IOX with my pro. I have a ton of temp sensors.

volksdragn
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:21 am

Re: oil temp sensor

Post by volksdragn » Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:01 pm

I talked with Mario at The Dubshop and he set me straight, it was in fact a resistor, i had to wire it between the sensor input and the 5 volt reference. its working great now.

Post Reply