1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

With Turbo and Super charging you can create massive horsepower with vw motors.
Post Reply
User avatar
buguy
Posts: 5179
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by buguy » Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:54 am

Since the engine is wider, the cylinder tin is away from the shroud. Forcing them into place is tilting the cylinder tin down towards the case. I can just put a shim in-between, but you know I'm an overachiever!
And no I didn't lap them, I'm running .003" deck and using .040" copper head gaskets.

Schweg
Posts: 848
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by Schweg » Sat Aug 01, 2020 8:37 am

Sounds like more Stroker fun


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

andy198712
Posts: 2430
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by andy198712 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:08 am

buguy wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:54 am
Since the engine is wider, the cylinder tin is away from the shroud. Forcing them into place is tilting the cylinder tin down towards the case. I can just put a shim in-between, but you know I'm an overachiever!
And no I didn't lap them, I'm running .003" deck and using .040" copper head gaskets.
i'm pretty sure there is an ally block spacer sold for that reason so i don't see why you couldn't knock something up with a drill and saw if you have the metal? 8)

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 5179
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by buguy » Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:42 am

Oh yeah I could definitely make something like that. We have tons of fender shims at work that would probably work fine, but what's the fun in that?! Have to see how ambitious I am when it comes time. I may cut the tin up and make it fit well.

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 5179
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by buguy » Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:00 pm

Dang. I wanted to check the clutch breakaway, but as it turns out all 3 of my torque wrenches are only 100ft/lb. The one I used went to 135ft/lb and it held that, but I don't know how much more it holds.

Schweg
Posts: 848
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by Schweg » Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:36 pm

If your willing to get it harbor freight has a 250 ft/lbs one for around $100. Most of the YouTube reviews I have seen claim equal quality as snap on.

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 5179
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by buguy » Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:56 pm

Yeah I'm considering that. Just not sure if it's worth it just for this. The engine builder at work has one but I'm betting it's more like a $1000 one and I hate to ask to borrow something like that.

madmike
Posts: 2307
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:11 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by madmike » Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:58 am

what stage Pressure Plate u using? i forgot :roll: You'll probably be fine,,

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 5179
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by buguy » Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:35 am

Stage 2. I had some problems with it a while back though so I kind of wanted to be sure.
Today I put it all together and put my breaker bar on it with the input shaft tool. Breaker bar is 15" long and with my 165 odd pounds it wouldn't move. If I put a bar on it and stood a couple inches further away it would move.
So 1.3 (15" is about 1.3x of 12" ft/lb) x 165 = 215ft/lb. I don't think that will cut it.

Schweg
Posts: 848
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:48 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by Schweg » Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:55 am

You can shim the plate out to get a bit more hold.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 5179
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by buguy » Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:58 am

Yeah I was just trying to figure out where I could get some thin washers or something to use for shims.

Clonebug
Posts: 4223
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:28 am

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by Clonebug » Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:09 am

8mm Wavy washers are .031" and what I used for shims. ACE Hardware should have them.
Stripped66 wrote:The point wasn't to argue air temps with the current world record holder, but to dispel the claim that the K03 is wrapped up at 150 HP. It's not.

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 5179
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by buguy » Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:24 am

I'm headed to ACE now. Also going to stop at Oreillys and see if they rent a 250ft/lb torque wrench.

User avatar
Chip Birks
Posts: 3666
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:59 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by Chip Birks » Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:47 am

If you are worried about the clutch holding beyond the 215ft/lbs, it's time to look at a disc that doesn't do only what that cold static reading gives you. The breakaway on my clutch was about 200ft/lbs. However, it gets more aggressive as it heats up. The disc is sintered iron, not organic. Organic discs will fade as they get hot, this does the opposite. So any breakaway number I get really doesn't mean much in the long run. Other than to check against past numbers to see if the pp is starting to give up.

User avatar
buguy
Posts: 5179
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:53 pm

Re: 1915 with AA 500 heads- now 2054

Post by buguy » Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:45 am

I will look into that when I put the new trans in. I want to see what this stocker will hold.
I'm planning on doing some small changes on this engine here in the near future, so I will do all that at one time.
For now the washers are in and it does hold more. Not a lot more, but definitely some. End play is set to .004" so I guess i can throw it in anytime. It's outside so weather will dictate what I can do today. Hurricane set to be full on around 8pm last I saw, but the rains will screw me.

Post Reply